DREAM ON DREAMER (ALL AGES & 18+ SHOWS) @ The Evelyn Hotel and BANG! July 2017

On Friday night, I planned a Movie Night at my place for the first time in months. As expected, it turned out to be a massive flop. It wasn’t for a lack of trying though. I tried hard to keep my expectations low and not get myself upset or depressed if nobody showed up but slowly those negative, depressing thoughts were breaking down the walls inside my head (Why can’t I get anyone to hang out with me? Why is it so hard for me to have successful social events? Why do I even bother? Nobody comes anyway).

I guess the silver lining was that some people did RSVP and a few really did want to come. It just never seems to get any easier hearing the same reasons why people can’t make it. Still, I’m glad that I stuck to my guns and went ahead with it anyway. I ordered myself a large Aussie pizza, drank a can of VB and a bottle of pink moscato and watched a few DVDs including Warcraft: The Beginning, Inferno and Rings. I guess there’s nothing wrong with having a night in and trying to enjoy my own company.

Today was a rather ambitious day for me, covering two different gigs over the course of 12 hours. My biggest concern was being able to remain conscious, alert and awake the entire time. Thankfully, I didn’t have to resort to taking no-doz but I did consume a coffee and a couple of beers throughout the day to keep my mind active and ward off any sleepiness.

The good news about today was that I didn’t seem to feel pressured by time. Of course, my plans were all based around what time each gig started but besides that, I didn’t feel like I was in any immediate rush. At the Evelyn Hotel gig, I made a deliberate effort to keep my expectations low when it came to social interaction. Sometimes I really struggle to articulate myself clearly but that doesn’t stop me from trying.

I’ve too often emotionally attached myself to my friends but these relationships often shift and change so I have to adapt to that which is difficult for me. Being an All Ages show, the bar was off limits but they did supply free lollies and jugs of water which I took full advantage of. Despite the modest turnout of 40-50 people, I actually bumped into quite a few people and hung out with Chris Greber and Ursula Kay in between bands.

CAUTION:THIEVES…The last time I saw this Melbourne-based Post-Hardcore/Alternative band was quite some time ago. I honestly can’t remember when but it would have been a couple of years back. There’s been a couple of lineup changes since then including drummer Taylor Douglas and guitarist Chris Meekin (ex-Left For Wolves). Despite best intentions, vocalist Nic struggled to get people to move closer to the stage even though he was quite polite about it. He was more successful at making jokes about being stuck in “football traffic” and delivering some engaging cleans and yells. They played several songs including Years on the Precipice and And You’ll See The End. https://cautionthieves.bandcamp.com/…

CHASING GHOSTS…I’m so fortunate to have caught Jimmy Kyle aka singer-songwriter Chasing Ghosts at this show as I missed out on his recent tour. A couple of weeks back, Jimmy actually reached out to me via social media as I was going through a tough time mentally. I really appreciated it even though I had no intentions of harming myself or suicide. An act like that demonstrates how caring and selfless this man truly is and I was very lucky to have him as a sound board for my issues.

The thing I truly admire about Jimmy is that he has this rough-around-the-edges, no bullshit approach to his lyrical content. He is very much a storyteller, touching on personal real life events from a cousin’s suicide attempt to toxic feelings about his ex-girlfriends. It’s extremely bold and yet he delivers these songs with a sense of black humour to take the edge off them. When he’s playing his acoustic guitar and singing, my attention is instantly drawn to him because his stories are deeply engaging and worth listening to. https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/i…

FOXBLOOD…I believe the last time I saw this Progressive Metalcore band was earlier this year at Your Local. The boys are really accomplished with their sound now from quality melodic samples, passionate vocals and backing vocals and a tight, dynamic stage presence. They have been noticeable quiet in recent months, however some new material is on the cards which is very exciting. They played several tracks from their debut album including Hurricane Hearts, Timeless, No Heroes and Die Young. https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/t…

DREAM ON DREAMER…So part of me had lost interest in this Melbourne-based Post Hardcore band after the release of 2015’s Songs of Soulitude album. It wasn’t a bad album as such but the new musical direction was challenging to get into for me. However, there are so many good songs in their back catalogue that I always manage to get back into them again.

The crowd had a rather lukewarm response initially when the band opened with The World in Front of Me though a few people were bobbing their heads along. It was good to see them blend the old with the new, playing tracks including Darkness Brought Me Here, Hear Me Out, Downfall, Stay and Don’t Lose Your Heart. The set gradually improved though with plenty of hand claps and a few people throwing down towards the end. https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/s…

After the first gig, I had a really good chat with Steven Powell outside the venue before heading off back towards the city. I decided to grab a bite to eat at Chiquito & Co with a burger and a beer. Killing three hours between gigs seemed painful especially since I have a short attention span and remaining mentally focused can be really tough. I met up with a couple of the boys from The Avenue Project outside BANG! and walked back with them to Southern Cross railway station where we hung out at the Public Bar with Ryan, Hayden, Ellen and Bree.

I was beginning to feel a little anxious and bored by the conversations about drugs, sex, relationships and footy though I was too polite to leave the table. I’m at my most introverted whenever I’m with people I’ve only just met and so I didn’t really contribute much at all. Plus I really just wanted to wait outside the BANG! venue with the others. Eventually I made my move and again bumped into Tim LucasChris Mercuri and Bob Corka in the queue.

Being my second time at BANG! for the year, I actually enjoyed myself tonight mainly because I was surrounded by lots of good friends including Mitchell RawlingsMichael Poida ProbstJake MandalitiShaun FullerJames Proctor and members of the bands Spectral Fires and The Avenue Project. The vibes were all positive tonight and I’m glad that I made the effort to come out to both gigs today.

PARKWOOD…This was my first time checking out this Melodic Hardcore band and honestly they weren’t too bad but for some reason, they didn’t maintain my interest for very long. They did manage to get some movement happening in the crowd though and the energy from the band was pretty tight. Make sure you check out their most recent singles “Sin” and “Four Years” here: https://parkwoodau.bandcamp.com/rel…

SPECTRAL FIRES…I don’t think I’ve seen this local Melodic Hardcore/Punk-Rock since late last year. The boys put on a really entertaining set with vocalist Jack getting really loose with the crowd and delivering powerful vocals. Their stage presence was also very impressive and loaded with energy. They played several songs from their Wayfarer EP including New Resolve and Left Behind. https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/w…

THE AVENUE PROJECT…This was basically the band that I was at BANG! tonight for. It was their official launch of their debut EP Havoc. I was extremely humbled and grateful that they give me a physical copy of it. The band were absolutely incredible tonight. The crowd went off from the beginning with people throwing down and mic grabbing. Even bassist Tim and guitarist Bob were getting amongst it and building up that fierce energy. https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/h…

DREAM ON DREAMER…So I didn’t end up staying to see Dream on Dreamer play for a second time as I was buggered by this point and just wanted to head home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

